Moving

What’s this book doing in my bag??

I’m moving in with my boyfriend. Big things are happening since I turned 30. And while I’m super excited about it, I’m also a bit hesitant. I’ve lived by myself for more than 2 years in Los Angeles. And more than just enjoying drinking straight from the almond milk jug, I’ve felt extremely safe gluten free-wise at home. After I found out I had celiac disease, I had continued to live with roommates and they all learned my gluten free rules with me. If they accidentally stuck a bread knife in the peanut butter, they switched the shelf it was on so I would know it was contaminated. But there was still an element of the unknown- like what if someone’s friend accidentally contaminated my food or who was baking and left flour on the counter. Since moving out, I haven’t had to worry about any of that. But now, I’m moving in with my gluten loving boyfriend. So, I not so discretely stuck “The Idiot’s Guide to Gluten Free Living” in his bag. He immediately found it. Whether or not he reads it…

There are so many things that people don’t think about. Like cutting boards. And wooden spoons. And does my boyfriend notice that I always have him kiss my cheek when he’s drinking beer? Or does he think I just like cheek kisses? Is he going to stop buying loaves of french bread? Or will he have a designated gluten spot? And I hope he doesn’t ever use my strainer with wheat pasta…

Guess we have some more gluten free talks coming.

Leave a Reply

